Church History

1958 Synod purchased 3 ½ Acres on North San Antonio Ave (now Towne Ave) for the Church site.
1960 First service was held in home of our organizing pastor, Rev. Clifford Holand. Services were held one summer at Sycamore School and then at Condit School on Mountain Avenue, which was closer to the property site. Special services were held at Webb Chapel.
1962 Organized as a formal congregation with 61 Charter Members and 59 Child Members.
1963 First Pastor – The Rev Peter Knoles began pastorate.
1966 Groundbreaking and dedication of First Unit - a divided multi-purpose room with minimal kitchen facilities, pastor's study and one classroom.
1967 The Rev. Pastor Knoles resigned to pursue further academic study.
1967 The Rev. David Adamcik began pastorate. Installed on October 15th, 1967.
1970 Four classrooms were built by members and dedicated to Bruce Beasom.
1971 Back patio was constructed by members with memorial funds.
1972 The Rev. David Adamcik resigned; Pastor Halvorsen served as interim pastor.
1973 The Rev. Lloyd Jacobson began pastorate. Installed on February 5th, 1973.
1974 Extension of the fellowship area of the multi-purpose room, a kitchen and Storage room built by members.
1975 Removal of the back wall between sanctuary area and fellowship area was undertaken to enlarge the worship area.
1975 Pews were built by the members of the congregation.
1976 The Rev Lloyd Jacobson resigned to retirement. Last Sunday July 31st , 1976.
1976 The Rev. William S. Dion began pastorate. Installed on October 31st, 1976.
1979 Building Committee was formed.
1981 Sold 1.4 acres to Greater Pomona Housing Development Corporation.
1982 20th Anniversary Dinner held at Cal Poly - Kellogg West.
1982 Groundbreaking for new sanctuary.
1983 March 25th – Palm Sunday: Dedication of new sanctuary.
1984 Refurbished the present "Fellowship Hall", Labor done by members. Improvements Included: a Fireside Room with conference table, TV and video equipment. An elevated stage for drama, greatly expanded kitchen space, upgraded and redecorated nursery care facility, carpet and painting throughout facility.
1987 25th ANNIVERSARY YEAR Special reunion celebrations took place. Confirmation pictures were mounted for display. Former Pastor's pictures were obtained and mounted for display. Benches were built for the front patio.
1989 The Rev. William S. Dion resigned to retirement. Last Sunday February 26th, 1989.
1989 Pastor John Stump served as interim pastor.
1990 The Rev. Roger Wm. Patterson began pastorate. Installed on March 25th, 1990.
1990 First Choral Festival sponsored and hosted by Good Shepherd. Thirteen Lutheran churches participated.
1990 Stage in Fellowship Hall was extended. Stage lighting was installed. Storage/Utility area built by building committee.
1990 First production by the newly formed Good Shepherd Community Theatre Group: Charles Dickens “Christmas Carol”
1991 Received 47 new members. Storage shed was completed, and the storeroom was converted to a new classroom.
1991 Drama and Music productions “Once Upon a Mattress”, and “Amahl and the Night Visitors”
1992 Began joint ministry program with St. Ambrose Episcopal Church, Claremont. Drama and Music Productions “Come Blow Your Horn”, “Godspell”, and “Down by the Creek Bank” (a children’s production). 47 new members received.
1993 Hosted a concert series. Drama and Music productions included: “Arsenic and Old Lace”, “Godspell”, “Amahl and the Night Visitors”, and “Back to the Creek Bank” (Children). 37 new members were received.
1994 Pastor Roger Patterson resigned. Pastor Edgar Doering was named interim pastor. Drama productions included: “Scenes from Five Plays ”,“ The Best Christmas Program Ever" (Children) and a benefit program for the Wellness Program.
1995 Interim Pastor, Edgar Doering, moved to Arizona, and Michael Schneider became interim pastor.
1995 Pastor Steven Herzberg began his pastorate. Installed on December, 1st.
1996 Introduced the Contemporary Worship Service at 8:00am with a live band. Traditional Service was at 9:30am. Chimes Choir was formed. Good Shepherd became the teaching parish for seminarian Tim Singleton for two years. 41 new members were received.
1997 Added 11:15am Contemporary Worship known as Praise Plus.
1998 Hired John Bocanegra as Youth Minister.
2002 40th Anniversary Luncheon and program was held at the Claremont Inn.
2003 Enlarged the fellowship hall, built a new youth room, and added more meeting and classroom space.
2003 Good Shepherd officially enrolled as a Stephen Ministry Congregation.
2005 Pastor Steven Herzberg resigns and moves to Texas.
2005 Interim Pastor Yutaka Kishino is installed November 27.
2007 Pastor Kenneth Davis began his pastorate on July 7, and was installed on September 30.
2010 Pastor Trina Johnsten is installed as Pastor of Childrens Ministry on Sept 19th.
2011 Pastor Trina Johnsten resigns and moves to Nebraska.
2012 Patio between Sanctuary and Fellowship hall is removed, and new concrete, drainage, and planters are built.
2012 50th Anniversary Luncheon and Program held at Hillcrest Community Center in La Verne.
2012 Pastor Kenneth Davis resigns and moves to Temecula.
2012 Pastor Cora Lee Meier accepts position of Interim Pastor.
2013 Youth Minister John Bocanegra resigns
2013 Interim Pastor Cora Lee Meier resigns
2013 Pastor Trina Johnsten accepts postion of Interim Pastor
2013 Good Shepherd hosts Concert by Lost and Found
2014 Pastor Lara Martin began her pastorate on July 27th, and was installed on August 17th.
2014 Music Director Lois Allen retires
2014 Aaron Copenhaguen is hired as Worship Leader
2014 Adan Fernandez is hired as Music Director
2014 Planter in front of the church is renovated, with new irrigation, a rock river and drought tolerant shrubs.